Adeleke dethrones three Osun monarchs

Governor Ademola Adeleke of Osun State has dethroned three traditional rulers appointed by the immediate past administration, barely twenty-four hours after succeeding his predecessor, Gboyega Oyetola.

Mr Adeleke ordered their ousting in a statement by his Chief Press Secretary, Olawale Rasheed, on Monday and deployed security operatives to take over their palaces.

The affected monarchs are Akinrun of Ikirun, Oba Yinusa Akadiri; Aree of Ire, Oba Ademola Oluponle and Owa of Igbajo, Oba Gboyega Famodun.

The order comes a day after the state bank accounts were frozen on his request while making few appointments.

“All appointments of traditional rulers made by Osun State Government after 17th July, 2022, are hereby ordered to be reviewed to ensure there was strict compliance with due process of chieftaincy declarations and native law, custom and tradition relating to such chieftaincies,” the statement partly reads. “In the case of Ikirun, Iree and Igbajo, to avoid further breakdown of law and order, the appointments of Akinrun of Ikinrun, Aree of Ire and Owa of Igbajo are hereby put on hold pending review. Subsequently, the palaces of Akinrun of Ikirun, Aree of Iree and Owa of Igbajo should remain unoccupied, while security agencies are hereby ordered to take charge.”

Mr Rasheed said his principal approved extensive reviews on chieftaincy matters, appointments issues, setting up of review panel, staff audit and employment matters.

“All employments in the service of Osun State Government made in any capacity into any capacity in all the Ministries, Departments, Agencies, Commissions, Boards and Parastatals after July 17th, 2022 are hereby nullified.”