Bayelsa, Kogi electorates elect new state governors today

Eligible voters in Bayelsa and Kogi States will today pick their next state governors who will govern them for the next four years.

Although there are other political parties who have candidates seeking same position in both states, the race is largely believed to be between the two major political parties in the country, the All Progressive Congress (APC) and the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP).

In Bayelsa, David Lyon of the APC and Duoye Diri of the PDP are the top contenders. The latter has the backing of the incumbent state governor, Henry Dickson, whose tenure winds down next year February.

While Yahaya Bello, the governor of Kogi State and the flag-bearer of the APC, is seeking to be re-elected for another term in office, Musa Wada, of the PDP, is not leaving any stone unturned in ensuring he oust the incumbent.

According to the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) Bayelsa has  a total of 867,088 registered voters while Kogi has a total of 1,646,350 electorates.

While the PDP is at the helm of affairs in Bayelsa, a state in the South South region, the APC is in control of Kogi, a North Central state.

The both parties are projected to retain power in their domain.