APC Wins Lagos Guber Election, PDP Candidate Congratulates Winner

The All Progressives Congress (APC) has been declared the winner of the Lagos State governorship election.

This is the second time the party will be winning the governorship election in the state since its formation in 2013.

Babajide Sanwo-Olu, who ran on the platform of the ruling party scored 739,445 votes to emerge victorious.

The governor-elect also won in all the local government areas in the state.

Jimi Agbaje of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) came second with 206,141 votes, according to official results declared by the Independent National Electoral Commission, (INEC).

Already, the incumbent and outgoing governor, Akinwumi Ambode and the PDP candidate has congratulated the winner of the gubernatorial race.

Mr Sanwo-Olu in a tweet on Sunday hinted that Mr Agbaje called and congratulated him for his victory at the poll.

“At exactly 19: 07 I received a call. Thank you @Jimiagbaje for your congratulatory call filled with kind words,” he tweeted through his handle, @jidesanwoolu.

“It was an intense campaign and I am happy we can now focus on the very important job at hand. Delivering a Lagos that works for all,” the governor-elect added.

On his part, Mr Ambode who was defeated at the APC state primary by Sanwo-Olu also congratulated the winner.

“Hearty congratulations to the Lagos State Governor-Elect, Mr. Babajide Olusola Sanwo-Olu and the Deputy Governor-elect, Dr. Obafemi Hamzat,” the outgoing governor tweeted Sunday evening.

“This is a victory for continuity in governance, victory for the APC and victory for all Lagosians. I wish them a successful term in office,” he added.