Tinubu forwards names of 11 judges to Senate for confirmation as Supreme Court justices

President Bola Tinubu has transmitted to the Nigerian Senate the names of the 11 new Supreme Court justices cleared by the National Judicial Council (NJC) for confirmation.

The NJC had on December 6 recommended the appointment of the 11 justices to the Supreme Court.

A statement by the apex court’s Director of Information, Soji Oye, said the recommendation was made at the 104th meeting of the council.

With this appointment, the apex court will have the full complement of 21 justices, as envisaged by the Constitution.

Those recommended for appointment to the Supreme Court are:

  1. Hon. Justice Jummai Hannatu Sankey, OFR
  2. Hon. Justice Chidiebere Nwaoma Uwa
  3. Hon. Justice Chioma Egondu Nwosu-Iheme
  4. Hon. Justice Haruna Simon Tsammani
  5. Hon. Justice Moore Aseimo A. Adumein
  6. Hon. Justice Obande Festus Ogbuinya
  7. Hon. Justice Stephen Jonah Adah
  8. Hon. Justice Habeeb Adewale O. Abiru
  9. Hon. Justice Jamilu Yammama Tukur
  10. Hon. Justice Abubakar Sadiq Umar and;
  11. Hon. Justice Mohammed Baba Idris