Ganduje, Basiru emerge new APC chairman, secretary

Abdullahi Ganduje, a former governor of Kano State, was elected by the All Progressives Congress (APC) National Executive Committee (NEC) on Thursday to serve as the party’s national chairman.

Ajibola Basiru, a former Senate spokesman from Osun State, was also chosen by the party’s NEC to serve as national secretary.

The decisions were made at the party’s 12th NEC meeting, which was held in Abuja at the Congress Hall of the Transcorp Hilton.

After being elected, Mr Ganduje thanked the President and assured party officials that internal democracy would rule the party under his leadership.

The former governor of Kano vowed to maintain an accurate list of party members and give the best possible consideration to managing elections and resolving disputes.

He claimed that during party primaries, there would be an even playing field for all party members.

In order to guarantee the party’s win in all upcoming governorship elections across the nation, Mr Ganduje pledged to get started right away.

At the NEC meeting, among others, were President Bola Tinubu, Vice President Kashim Shettima, members of the Progressive Governors’ Forum, and party leaders in the National Assembly.

The President told the party’s 12th NEC that the APC had won the elections and that it was now time to fulfill its promises to the Nigerian people on effective governance.

Former President Muhammadu Buhari and former Vice President Yemi Osinbajo were conspicuously absent from the NEC meeting. However, Bisi Akande, the party’s first national chairman, was present.

Recall that in July, two National Working Committee (NWC) members of the party resigned. Senators Iyiola Omisore and Abdullahi Adamu resigned from their positions as national chairman and national secretary of the party, respectively.