FULL LIST: 100 Senators-elect To Receive Certificate Of Return Thursday

The Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) will on Thursday issue certificate of return to senators-elect expected to form the 9th Senate.

The electoral body stated this on Monday while inviting the senators-elect to an event where they will receive their certificate of return.

The Secretary of the commission, Rose Anthony, who signed the invitation letter said the body would only issue certificate of return to those whose names are published on its website.

Members-elect into the House of Representatives are also invited to the event billed to hold at the Africa Hall of the International Conference Centre, (ICC), even though their names are yet to be published on the commission’s website as at press time when POLITICS TIMES visited it.

A perusal by POLITICS TIMES showed that those expected to receive the certificates for the 9th Senate were 100 members whereas the chamber has 109 slots.

Of the 100 senatorial seats, the APC has won 62 so far while the PDP has secured 37 seats, leaving the last one to the YPP.

The incoming Senate also has 5 female lawmakers, according to the published list.

Supplementary elections will be conducted in 9 senatorial zones including a zone where a winner was declared under duress.

While INEC has said it will not issue certificate of return to any member whose declaration was made under duress, POLITICS TIMES gathered that the outgoing Imo State governor, Rochas Okorocha, will not join his colleagues at the event because he falls into that category.