11 New Supreme Court justices take oath of office Monday

The 11 new justices of the Supreme Court whose nominations were confirmed late last year will take oath of office on Monday.

Justice Olukayode Ariwoola, who heads the apex court, is expected to administer the oath to the top jurists.

Festus Akande, spokesperson of the Supreme Court, who confirmed this in a statement, said the event will hold on Monday 26th February by 10 am at the main courtroom of the court.

The Justices are Jummai Hannatu Sankey, Chidiebere Nwaoma Uwa, Chioma Egondu Nwosu-Iheme, Haruna Simon Tsammani and Moore Aseimo A. Adumein.

Others are Justices Obande Festus Ogbuinya, Stephen Jonah Adah, Habeeb Adewale O. Abiru, Jamilu Yammama Tukur, Abubakar Sadiq Umar, and Mohammed Baba Idris.

When sworn in, the apex court will have the full complement of 21 justices, as envisaged by the Constitution.