Zamfara APC LG chairmen defect to PDP, give reason

Bello Matawalle, Zamfara State governor.

The All Progressive Congress (APC) has lost 8 of its local government chairmen to the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) in Zamfara State.

The defectors who formally joined the ruling party in the state said they were attracted by the leadership qualities of the state governor, Bello Matawalle.

The chairman of Anka Local Government Area, Alhaji Ahmed Balarabe, led the defectors to the PDP.

Others are namely: Alhaji Muhammad Umar – Birnin magaji LGA; Alhaji Salisu Isah – Maru LGA; Alhaji Nasiru Zarumi – Bukkuyum LGA; Alhaji Lawal Abdullahi – Kaura-Namoda LGA; Alhaji Shehu Mohammed Faru – Maradun LGA; Alhaji Abdul Aziz Ahmed – Bungudu LGA and Alhaji Aminu Mudi – Tsafe LGA.

“The political stability, unity and peaceful coexistence witnessed during the first one hundred days of Governor Matawalle in office is an indication that he is leading a people-oriented administration in the state,” Mr Balarabe was quoted to have said in a statement by Zailani Bappa, media aide to the state governor.

“We defected to the PDP-led administration of Governor Bello Matawalle with thousands of our supporters and we are ready to rally round his administration so as to support him to transform the state into an enviable position,” he added.

Receiving the defectors into the PDP, the governor promised to treat them as bona fide members of the party.