Sokoto State governor, Aminu Tambuwal.

The speaker of the Sokoto State House of Assembly, Muhammad Aminu Manya Achida, representing Wurno Constituency and the deputy chief whip, Bello Murtala Maigona, representing Wamakko Constituency, on Thursday, dumped the All Progressive Congress (APC)

In a letter to the house, jointly signed by the duo, the defectors cited the division in the Pratt, occasioned by the parallel congresses of the APC in 20 states across the federation, as reason for moving to the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP).

They both said their defection is in accordance with the letters and spirit section 109 (1) (g) of the Constitution of the Federation Republic of Nigeria, 1999 as amended.

The defectors said they were avoiding a repetition of what transpired in Rivers and Zamfara states where the court barred the party from participating during the 2019 general election in the two states.

“Our decision to defect to PDP is in order to pursue our political ambition in a congenial atmosphere devoid of division, faction and crisis,” Messrs Achida and Maigona further held.

“The APC has throughout its chequered history remained a party of different interest groups, especially in Sokoto State.

“This is where three different state congresses were held at three different places by three rival factions with Sen. Aliyu Wamakko faction electing Isa Sadiq-Achida as State Party Chairman.

“Another faction of Sen. Abubakar Gada, electing Mainasara Sani, as State Chairman, while the other faction of Rep. Balarabe Salame, held their congress and elected Sirajo Abubakar as State APC Chairman,” they added.