Ondo deputy speaker impeached as Gombe assembly removes speaker, other officers

The Ondo State House of Assembly has impeached its deputy speaker, Rt. Hon. Ogundeji Iroju.

Mr Iroju, accused of gross misconduct inimical to the progress of the house was removed today after 20 members out of the 26-member house endorsed the move.

Hon. Aderoboye Samuel was elected as his replacement.

In a similar vein, the Gombe State House of Assembly has removed its speaker, Ibrahim Abubakar and some other principal officers.


Removed alongside Mr Abubakar are; Samuel Markus, the house majority leader and Yahaya Kaka, the deputy chief whip.

The resolution undertaken today during plenary was had the endorsement of 16 lawmakers of the 24-member house.

The house has 20 All Progressive Congress (APC) and 4 Peoples Democratic Party members.

Abubakar Luggerewo, representing Akko Central was immediately announced as the new speaker, Ladan Yerima, representing Kaltungo East Constituency, as new majority leader while Saddam Bello, representing Funakaye constituency is the new deputy chief whip.


The aggrieved lawmakers said they effected a change of leadership because they no longer have confidence on Mr Abubakar.

“The former Speaker of the house was removed due to lack of confidence,” deputy speaker, Siddi Buba, representing Balanga North, said.

“We lost confidence in his leadership; and as a house, we are at liberty to change leadership. Once you lack confidence in someone then there has been a breach. We felt the best thing was to remove him and replace him with a brand new speaker,” Mr Buba added.

Also Read:

Back to top button
Today Politics