The Federal Government has finally announced entry restrictions for travellers from 13 countries into Nigeria.

This was announced by the Presidential Task Force on coronavirus led by the Secretary to the Government of the Federation, Boss Mustapha, on Wednesday.

The development is coming a day after the Nigerian Senate urged President Muhammadu Buhari to take the step in curtailing the spread of Coronavirus disease in the country.

The pandemic officially knowns as COVID-19 originated from China with no known cure yet.

- advertisement -

Mr Mustapha named the United States of America, the United Kingdom and China as top countries where travellers have been restricted.

Other nations affected by the restrictions includes: Japan, Spain, France, Germany, Netherland, Switzerland, Norway, Italy, Iran and South Korea.

The restriction takes effect from Saturday 21 March and subject to review after four weeks.

- advertisement -