FG constitutes governing councils of federal tertiary institutions

The governing councils of federal tertiary institutions in the country has been constituted by the federal government.

This is coming days after the Academic Staff Union of Universities (ASUU) threatened to down tools over the failure of the present administration to constitute the councils, almost a year after they were dissolved.

The list which contained the names of the constituted chairmen and members was released by the Permanent Secretary, Federal Ministry of Education, Didi Esther Walson-Jack.

Ms Walson-Jack in a Saturday statement said the inauguration and retreat of the councils would hold on May 30 and 31, 2024.

“The inauguration and retreat for the Governing Councils will take place on Thursday, May 30 and Friday, May 31, 2024, at the National Universities Commission, 26 Aguiyi Ironsi Street, Maitama, Abuja. Both events will commence at 9:00am daily,” she announced.

The list contained names of technocrats, politicians and traditional rulers.