The Ebonyi State House of Assembly has declared three seats vacant following the resignation of lawmakers belonging to the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP).

The letter announcing the stepping aside of the lawmakers was read on the floor of the house by the speaker, Francis Nwifuru, on Tuesday.

Mr Nwifuru directed the Clerk of the house to write to the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) to notify the electoral body and the need to conduct a fresh election for replacement of the affected constituencies.

The lawmakers who reportedly resigned and their colleagues from the PDP were absent in the plenary attended by about 15 lawmakers of the All Progressive Congress (APC).

The resignees are Ali Okechukwu (Ishielu North); Franca Okpo Abakaliki North) and Victor Aleke (Ebonyi West).