2023: Tinubu polls 1,271 votes to win APC presidential ticket

Bola Tinubu, a former governor of Lagos State, has been announced as the winner of the presidential primary of the All Progressive Congress (APC).

Mr Tinubu emerged winner of the two-day exercise which took began at the Eagle Square in Abuja on Tuesday.

He polled 1,271 votes out of 2,322 accredited delegates who elected him the presidential candidate of the ruling party.

Eight of his rivals stepped down and asked their supporters to vote for the ruling party’s chieftain who said it was his turn to realise his life-long ambition of becoming Nigeria’s president.

Trailing him behind is Rotimi Amaechi, former Minister of Transportation, who polled 316 votes to come second while Vice President, Yemi Osinbajo, came third with 235 votes.

Senate President Ahmad Lawan, the ”consensus candidate” of Abdullahi Adamu, APC national chairman, polled 152 votes.

Rochas Okorocha, Tein Jack-Rich and Tunde Bakare got zero vote respectively; Chukwuemeka Nwajiuba got one vote; David Umahi polled 38 votes; Ogbonnaya Onu got one vote; Yahaya Bello polled 47 votes, and Ben Ayade got 37 votes.

Mr Tinubu will face Atiku Abubakar, the presidential candidate of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) and other opposition candidates, during next year’s presidential election.